About CTU

Establishment of CTU

The Czech Telecommunication Office (“CTU”) was established on the basis of Act No. 127/2005 Coll., on Electronic Communications and on Amendment to Certain Related Acts (the Electronic Communications Act) (the “Act”) as of 1 May 2005 as a central administrative body for the execution of state administration in matters set out in the Act, including market regulation and definition of the conditions for business activities in the area of electronic communications and postal services.

CTU is a legal successor to the Czech Telecommunication Office, which was established as a separate administrative authority on the basis of Act No. 151/2000 Coll., on Telecommunications and on Amendment to Other Acts, as amended, as of 1 July 2000.

A period of historical importance, involving substantial changes in telecommunications, preceded the establishment of CTU, when CTU had been part of different Ministries. On the basis of Act No. 474/1992 Coll., on Measures in the Systems of State Administration Central Bodies in the Czech Republic and on the basis of Constitutional Act No. 4/1993 Coll., on Measures Related to the Split of the Czecho-Slovak Federal Republic, the Minister of Economy of the Czech Republic issued a decision on 1 January 1993 to establish the Czech Telecommunication Office as Section 6 of the Ministry of Economy. CTU remained under the Ministry of Economy until 31 October 1996. After 1 November 1996, all competences of Section 6 of the Ministry of Economy were transferred to the Ministry of Transport and Communications, where they remained until 30 June 2000.