International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is the United Nations specialized agency (since 1947) for promoting and securing the development of information and communication technologies, and was established in 1865.


The work of ITU is focused on improving and rationalizing the use of telecommunications services; promoting and developing communications technologies, the efficient allocation and use of radio frequencies and orbital paths; and ensuring technical assistance to developing countries in the telecommunication field.


Almost 193 countries and almost 800 private-sector entities and academic institutions are the Members of the ITU. Czech Republic became a Member on 1 January 1993.

The Head of the ITU is the Secretary-General.

ITU has three main areas of activity organized in sectors: Sector for the development of telecommunications (ITU-D), for Telecommunication Standardization (ITU-T), and for the Radiocommunications (ITU-R). Much work is done in study groups with specific focus. They are composed of experts from telecommunication organizations around the world. The main output of study groups is the establishment of technical standards or guidelines (Recommendations) of the ITU.

Within the membership of the ITU, CTU participates in the activities of the Advisory Committee of the Radiocommunication Sector RAG (Radiocommunication Advisory Group), the Advisory Committee of the Telecommunications sector TSAG (Telecommunication Standardization Advisory Group), and in study groups and working parties (groups) ITU-R, especially by representation in groups for mobile communications, broadcasting service and satellite services. Furthermore, CTU provides professional support and participation in meetings of top level ITU bodies in the scope of its authority.


Plenipotentiary conference (PPC) is held every four years. 

World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC) is also held every four years.

ITU decisions are taken by consensus.